The main functions of Sworn Translators include the translation of the documents in to target languages and certification of such documents which are to be submitted for the law courts and provision of assistance to the court proceedings when necessary.

Accordingly, the Ministry recommends persons to be Sworn Translators for different languages namely, Sinhala, Tamil, English, Arabic, Hindi, Japanese and such other languages basically depending on the current needs.  Further, Sworn Translators translate and certify certain documents which the public need a translation in case such documents are required to be certified by a Sworn Translator. On the appointment of Sworn Translators, the Ministry of Justice makes recommendations to the District Judges of the District Courts within respective jurisdictions, the appointments are to take effect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *